Menu

Rod Judkins

Rod Judkins is an accomplished lecturer at Central St Martin's, one of the world's pre-eminent art schools whose alumni - ranging from artists like Lucien Freud, Gilbert & George and Antony Gormley through to the designers Stella McCartney, Sarah Burton and Alexander McQueen - have helped shape our culture.

Judkins has lectured on the subject of creativity at universities and to businesses around the world. He blogs at Psychology Today, and also acts as a consultant to numerous private companies. Trained at The Royal College of Art, he has exhibited at galleries including Tate Britain, The National Portrait Gallery and The Royal Academy.


Books by Rod Judkins

Ideas Are Your Only Currency

Rights : Sceptre/Hodder & Stoughton (World Rights)

'Some business books are annoying because they try to tell you what to think. This one, however, shows you how to think. It features artfully simple prose, immersive and witty illustrations, and a range of eminently quotable aphorisms by anyone from Socrates to Pamela Anderson. Whatever job you are doing today, this book will help you do it better tomorrow, with a smile on your face... Both fun and stimulating.'
Harper's Bazaar


FUTURE-PROOFING FOR THINKERS

Acclaimed artist and business consultant Rod Judkins reveals how to inspire great ideas, and how to future-proof yourself in the knowledge economy.

'What skills and abilities will a student need to prosper in five, ten, or fifteen years' time?'

In a world of change, where skills become out of date quickly, it is ideas that last.

We all need to be prepared for a world that is fluid, global and interdisciplinary. Distinctions between specialties will blur and overlap. Change is happening at electrifying speed. In this vortex there are no maps.

Featuring 100 interactive chapters to inspire groundbreaking new ideas, this is perfect for fans of Keri Smith's Wreck this Journal, Paul Arden's It's Not How Good You Are and Rolf Dobelli's global bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly.

The Art of Creative Thinking

Rights : Sceptre/Hodder & Stoughton (World Rights), Perigee Books/Penguin (US), Rocco (Brazilian), Bertrand Editora (Portuguese), Wisdomhouse Publishing (Korean), WeLearn (Thai), Azbooka-Atticus (Russian), China Renmin University Press (Chinese Simplified)

*From the publishers of the international bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly*

The secrets of creative thinking, by a lecturer at the world famous St Martin's College of Art who has spent a lifetime researching innovative thinkers.

Be stubborn about compromise.

Plan to have more accidents.

Be mature enough to be childish.

Contradict yourself more often.

Discover the Art of Creative Thinking.

A scuba diving company faces bankruptcy because sharks have infested the area. Solution? Open the world's first extreme diving school.

The Art of Creative Thinking reveals how we can transform ourselves, our businesses and our society through a deeper understanding of human creativity.

Rod Judkins, of the world-famous St Martin's College of Art, has studied successful creative thinkers from every walk of life, throughout history. Drawing on an extraordinary range of reference points - from the Dada Manifesto to Nobel Prize Winning economists, from Andy Warhol's studio to Einstein's desk - he distils a lifetime's expertise into a succinct, surprising book that will inspire you to think more confidently and creatively.

You'll realise why you should be happy when your train is cancelled; meet the most successful class in educational history (in which every single student won a Nobel prize); discover why graphic nudity during public speaking can be both a hindrance and surprisingly persuasive; and learn why, in the twenty-first century, it's technically illegal to be as good as Michelangelo.